When Convicted of a PA DUI

When Convicted of a PA DUI




If you have been convicted of a PA DUI, a mandatory license suspension may be unavoidable. This method the best way to avoid a suspension is to avoid a DUI conviction. And the best way to avoid a DUI conviction after an arrest is to hire an experienced DUI lawyer to fight your charges.

The general rule in Pennsylvania for DUI situations is that the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation will suspend a driver’s license once it receives notice of a DUI conviction. There are only two types of offenses to which do not carry a mandatory license suspension:

•A first-time conviction for Driving under the Influence – General Impairment, where there is no accident or refusal
•A first-time conviction for Driving under the Influence where the individual’s BAC is at or between 0.08% and 0.10%.

All other offenses carry a suspension.

The length of the license suspension for a PA DUI conviction will depend on two factors: the number of prior offenses within a ten year period and the individual’s BAC at the time of testing.

For a Driving Under the Influence – General Impairment offense (with no accident or refusal), the license suspension will be:

•First offense: no suspension
•Second offense: 12 month license suspension
•Third or later offense: 12 month license suspension.

You should be aware that conviction in a case involving an accident or refusal related to a PA DUI may consequence in a 12 month license suspension for a first offense, and an 18 month suspension for second and later offenses.

For a PA DUI – High Rate of Alcohol offense, a person faces the following driver’s license suspension:

•First offense: 12 month
•Second offense: 12 month
•Third or later offense: 18 month

For a PA DUI – Highest Rate of Alcohol offense, the suspension will be:

•First offense: 12 month
•Second offense: 18 month
•Third or later offense: 18 month

There are certain programs for DUI offenders, such as entry into the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition program, which may drastically reduce the length of a driver’s suspension. A suspension as a consequence of entry into ARD will last between 0 to 60 days. Also, certain DUI offenders may be eligible for an Occupational Limited License, or work license.

You should also be aware that there are very strict penalties for driving under a license suspension that is PA DUI-related. These offenses carry a period of jail time between 60 and 90 days. There are also mandatory minimum fines involved.

If you need your license and have been arrested for DUI, you should contact a specialized, experienced PA DUI attorney to see what can be done about the suspension. A DUI attorney gives you the best chance of potentially avoiding the harsh consequences of a suspension resulting from a PA DUI conviction.




leave your comment

Top